Blog tour – how my writing process works

Firstly, I would like to say a big thank you to Lori Ericson for asking me to participate in this Blog Tour. I am new to this, so please bear with me. Visit Lori’s blog at http://loriericson.com/

1)   What am I working on?

A novel/novella (I haven’t decided how long it will be yet), named “That English Lady”.

The story begins in the year 2048, where August, a wounded war veteran now in his sixties, is trying to recollect his life. He finds Emily’s diary, hoping it will open up his failing memory. He remembers more than he expects.

His mind drifts back to when he and Emily meet, for the first time in-person, in 2009. This story chronicles adventures they share involving time travel and parallel universes, as well as dealing with a Trans-Atlantic love story, immigration, and everyday life.

2)   How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Readers tell me that my work transcends several genres, so it is difficult to tell how it differs from any given one. I suppose I would say that it differs considerably, since it doesn’t have a specific genre that fits. Fantasy, time travel, love story, historical, contemporary, future…the list goes on.

3)   Why do I write what I do?

I enjoy reading many different genres and styles, which is probably why my writing doesn’t fit into one genre in particular. But, who has time to read anymore when we are all working on writing novels of our own? I try to find time. Usually, it’s late at night when I go to bed. I fill my days with writing or writing related activities.

I have always had a fascination for time travel and alternate realities, and somehow they always end up filtering into my work, whether I intended them to or not. I just can’t seem to stay away from them.

4)   How does your writing process work?

I usually start with the characters, which pop into my head and demand I write about them. However, sometimes I will have a vivid dream and recall it in the morning. That is how the first volume of my Blue Door Trilogy started. I thought it would make a good short story, but it turned into three books and a stand-alone novella loosely attached to the trilogy. As with everything I write, the characters took over before long and dictated the story from there.

I am not a planner/plotter. I never know where each chapter will lead until I finish it, often with a surprised expression on my face, saying, “They really did that?” or “Oh, they are going there?”

I believe a story should have a basis of reality to set off against whatever is in my imagination at any given moment, so I like to incorporate what I know to start with.

New ideas always come along eventually. Always initiated by my characters. I embrace the research these ideas invoke and enjoy learning more about what I either already know a little or know nothing of at all when I begin. That is one of the many fun things about writing.

I did request three bloggers to continue, but because I got in at the end, most people have already completed theirs. So mine will be the last in line on this particular leg of the tour.

2 thoughts on “Blog tour – how my writing process works

Leave a Reply

