An excerpt from The Blue Door.

In The Blue Door, Katie wears a black dress.

Here is one of my favourite excerpts from the Blue Door Trilogy.

A tastefully decorated, still lavish, room surrounded me. The walls were a dusky pink. The customary chandelier and fireplace were both unlit, and the pink drapes were open in here.

I decided I should really look in the cream wardrobe. I expected to find some more modern clothing than I had seen him wear…but his charade, apparently, stretched to his sister’s closet too. The black dress he mentioned was evident immediately. It stood out as a black Onyx set among a cluster of Diamonds. It was indeed beautiful.

Black lacy sleeves tapered to fit close to the arms; a long skirt of black lace and velvet panels flowed out and away from the legs; and a velvet bodice, fitted and flatteringly shaped. At the back of the waist sat a large, floppy bow of black velvet. The whole was completed by a ‘sweetheart’ neckline. I liked the dress, which he had chosen for me…I liked it a lot…I liked him.

Next to this dress was a peculiar looking article indeed! It looked like a skirt, of sorts, but was made of some kind of ‘wire’ and seemed far too large to be what it seemed. I decided to leave it where it was and put on the dress.

To find out more about The Blue Door Trilogy, please visit http://alicewhiteauthor.com/ where you can read sample chapters, find out a little more about the author (me), and follow links to purchase books.

2 thoughts on “An excerpt from The Blue Door.

Leave a Reply

