My Writing Process (writing process blog tour).

My Writing Process (writing process blog tour).

A couple of weeks ago Madison Woods invited me to blog about my writing process as part of the Writing Process Blog Tour. Four questions are posed: 1) What am I working on? 2) How does my work differ from others of its genre? 3) Why do I write what I do? and 4) How does my writing process work?

1) What am I working on?
I’m currently working on a novel/novella called That English Lady.Cover 1 TEL fourth draft It is a tale of time travel with a love story mixed in. Emily, an English lady, and August, an American Army Veteran, meet on the internet. Both have had reason to be in a support chat room, but do not divulge too much about themselves to each other right off the bat. August suggests they meet in person, and invites her to visit him in America.This is their journey. Time travelling to prehistory, Medieval times, and parallel worlds, this is their journey of enlightenment for the places they visit and each other. But who is behind the strange willow tree, which entices them time after time to enter its shroud, and what is that shape in the sky that Emily keeps seeing?
2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

My work crosses genres, and I think my books offer something fairly unique, in that I am from England myself, but writing/publishing in America. My first four books, The Blue Door Trilogy and their sequel, Twisted Labyrinth, were written in the UK about time travel and the Victorian era in the UK, Such as .which already makes them different to most books published in the US. With my current project I am able to mix the two cultures, I hope with some success.

3) Why do I write what I do?

I have always been fascinated with time travel, fantasy, and “what if?” stories. And that is what my longer works encompass.

The Blue Door.final cover 2 KindleBTBD official cover 3 KindleRTTBD official cover3 KindleTwisted Labyrinth 1 Kindle

 

 

 

 

However, just lately I have been branching out into short stories and essays. But these are mostly non-fiction. More of a memoir feel.

4) How does my writing process work?

I try to write every day, but I don’t beat myself up if I can’t. Sometimes life gets in the way, and that is all right. Also, sometimes one has to take a step back in order to see progress 🙂

I’m a seat of your pants kind of writer. I allow my characters room to tell me what they are up to next. And I think that if the story turns surprise me, sadden me, or cause me to guffaw, there is a strong likelihood the reader will be effected the same way.

Click here to view Madison Woods’ answers, published last week. For next week (September 10th), I invited three more writers to participate, but only two were available for this blog tour:

Can’t wait to read Gil Miller‘s and Pamela Foster‘s answers!

2 thoughts on “My Writing Process (writing process blog tour).

Leave a Reply

