Five Star Review of Bayou Jesus by M.G. Miller

A dark, Southern Gothic tale that had me hooked from the first line. I saw, tasted, felt, and smelled the bayou – even though I have never experienced it in person. I understood the oppression endured by Zassy; a young black woman, struggling to live in a time with no racial equality, as a single mother of a son who seems to have a special calling.
The three sections, entitled Father, Son, and Ghost, led me on a journey that took me through an emotional spectrum so vast, and twists I didn’t see coming, that it kept me hooked throughout.
I do my reading just before going to sleep, and I found it difficult to put the book down, even as eyes drooped. M.G. Miller is a master at his craft, and Bayou Jesus is a stroke of genius.
Five stars well deserved!

One thought on “Five Star Review of Bayou Jesus by M.G. Miller

Leave a Reply

