Final milestone of edits for That English Lady

Last Thursday, I attended my writers critique group, Northwest Arkansas Writers Workshop, with the final five pages of That English Lady. This being the ending to the book, I hoped everyone would appreciate it and even like it. That it would hit the mark as a GOOD ending. That it would do justice to the rest of the story. photo-165I felt in my heart that it covered all the bases very well, but the general consensus from group served to reinforce this. They liked it, and even had a few suggestions to make it even stronger, which I took to heart and acted upon the next day.

So now, That English Lady is complete and ready for submissions or self-publishing.

Either way, a professional editor shall get to see it, (and if anyone has suggestions on good freelance editors they have had positive experiences with – in case I go with self-publishing – please feel free to comment below), but I am not entirely sure which way to go with it yet.cropped-cropped-typewriter.jpg

I self-published The Blue Door Trilogy – which I am going to get to work on re-editing for a second, improved edition AFTER a reasonable sabbatical – and may well end up doing the same with this one. Although, having a traditional publisher take it on, along with the formatting, professional editing, cover design, etc. does have a certain appeal! I suppose we shall see if indeed any submissions bear fruit or not first.

Regardless of eventual outcome, I at least intend to try the traditional, small press, route with this book before deciding what is best for it.

Wish me luck! 🙂

10 thoughts on “Final milestone of edits for That English Lady

    • Hugs and thank you, Nancy. That means the world to me coming from such a talented writer such as yourself. I’m letting it sit for a little bit whilst I deal with real life – although, I have been doing minor promotion on Pinterest and Twitter now and then, just laying the foundations, so to speak. I’ll know when the time is right to begin making submissions and laying the promo on a little thicker… but not too thick 😉 Hope to see you at group tomorrow xox

      Like

  1. Congratulations on finishing! It’s such a victorious feeling, isn’t it? I realize you weren’t fishing for editors with this post, but I happened to come across it just as a reader, not in business soliciting mode. When I saw your thoughts on possible editing and publication directions, I figured it was worth tossing my name out there. I’m a freelance editor. If you decide to go that route rather than the big industry package, I’d love to work with you. If you’re interested, visit my page and see if we’d be a good fit. I can give you a price quote, and we can discuss your project. In any case, I wish you the best of luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I wasn’t fishing, no, but I really appreciate your comment. I am off to your page now. If I do decide to go down the self-pub route with this book, and that we would be a good fit, I shall contact you directly 🙂 Meanwhile, thank you for your kind words. It indeed feels victorious, but also as if a great weight has left my shoulders. For now, having been so immersed in this main character of mine, and her basic story being based in a large part on personal experience, it’s time for me to have that much needed break I promised myself when I was done 🙂 THEN I shall get to work on The Blue Door – edition 2 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

