A Tolkien Tribute

I love the books, but, like Café Book Bean, I have not read the Silmarillion… I have heard it’s pretty tough going, though.
I read The Lord Of The Rings after the first movie came out, although I believe we read the Hobbit in school. I had intended to see the movies and then read the books, because I didn’t want to end up picking the movies apart, as I always do with movies made of books I have read. Although it took me a while to get into his style of writing in LOTR, I soon could not put the book down, and oops! I read The Return Of The King BEFORE seeing the movie, but I couldn’t help it.
Of course, yes I sure did pick that movie apart. What they should have put in, what they should have left out! Nevertheless, I do love the movies and the books.
Thanks to Café Book Bean for this timely post, and a very Happy Birthday to J.R.R. Tolkien!

Cafe Book Bean

       “Not all who wander are lost.”

John Ronald Reuel Tolkien was born on January 3rd in 1892 (Happy Birthday!) He was a writer, poet, and philologist from England. He was also a college professor, and the genius author who wrote the classic fantasy books; The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and The Silmarillion (and many others.) I have not read The Silmarillion yet, but the others are among my favorites (both in book and film.)

Here are quotes from some of the most beloved Tolkien works:
MSNydnp
(Click Pictures and Titles for more info.)
The Hobbit
“Where there’s life there’s hope.”
“It is the small everyday deeds of ordinary folk that keep the darkness at bay. Small acts of kindness and love.”
 The Fellowship of The Ring
“All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”
The Two Towers
“There is some…

View original post 275 more words

Leave a Reply

