THAT ENGLISH LADY. Draft One Complete!

The first real draft of That English Lady, my new book, is complete. I actually typed “THE END” after chapter fifteen and the Epilogue.

Cover 1 TEL fourth draftAnd, as you can see, I have a “provisional” cover. This likely won’t be the final cover, then again…one never knows 🙂 I really just wanted to put a picture in here, truth be told 😉

The much appreciated and continued assistance of my critique group, Northwest Arkansas Writers Workshop, is invaluable to me, especially during the next stage. Cleaning up/editing/polishing. A lot, up to chapter four, has been done, (first time around anyway). I have been trying to keep up with it as I go, so that perhaps it isn’t so daunting to go through the entire book and have to do EVERYTHING all at once. I had to do that with all three Blue Door books and found it rather overwhelming.

I do have a couple more things I would like to add to the first two chapters, (more fore-shadowing, hints, and magical happenings – but NO spoilers for later events!). I am already in the process of that, though. The rest is tweaking and polishing.

So, I think I must crack open a Boston Lager this evening in celebration of completing the first stage 🙂 Long way to go still, but the biggest hurdle is out of the way – finishing the first draft. The editing, I really don’t mind. In a lot of ways I find it as much fun as writing the story, and I get to see my work come even more to life through the process 🙂

Thanks to everyone who has stood by me in my madness of being an author. Especially my husband, Huey. I love you, Honey.

 

Leave a Reply

